Skip to main content

Regatta Dates

Upcoming Events

Slide # Image URL
Slide 1 //
Slide 2 //
Slide 3 //
Slide 4 //
Slide 5 //
Slide 6 //
Slide 7 none
Slide 8 none
HomeNews - 2017 Season

2017 E-Scow National Championship
Hosted by the Carolina Yacht Club in Charleston SC
Won by Harry Melges IV and crew of: Finn Rowe, Jeremy Wilmot, Patrick Wilson

These results are preliminary because of possible appeals on two abandoned races.


Pos Sail Boat Skipper Yacht Club 2 3 4 5 6 7 Total
1 I-1 White Heat Harry Melges [Youth] Lake Geneva Yacht Club 9 1 8 1 [12] 2 21
2 I-49 Full Throttle Brian Porter LGYC [18] 9 5 2 3 3 22
3 I-2 Wide Open Vincent Porter Lake Geneva 6 2 [11] 7 7 1 23
4 M-42 MADAME Sam Rogers MYC 5 [8] 6 6 4 4 25
5 W-66 Marvin Eddie Cox [Youth] White Bear Yacht Club 8 [59/RET-BF] 2 5 5 13 33
6 T-73 Limelight Jeff Bonanni Toms River Yacht Club 4 10 [17] 3 13 7 37
7 M-11 ELEVEN Erik Bowers Minnetonka Yacht Club 10 7 9 [18] 1 12 39
8 T-17 Hunter Chad Hillyer Toms River YC [43] 5 3 8 26 9 51T
9 GA-8 Espresso Kevin Jewett Hobcaw Yacht Club [16] 4 7 12 14 14 51T
10 I-9 Rooster Pete Strothman Geneva 13 14 [31] 23 2 10 62T

Full Results

All 2017 Awards Presented

E-Scow Social Media Toolkit
Published on: 11/03/2017

Earlier this summer Ashley Byrne created the E-Scow Social Media Toolkit. I am highlighting it here again because its an important document. It is a must see for every person involved in running an E-scow regatta. Please read it and heed it - and then ask for help to deliver the best possible regatta reporting to make your future regatta an even bigger success!
New Officers for 2018-19

New NCESA officers for 2018-19 are: Commodore Brett Hatton, Vice Commodore Chrisy Hughes, and Rear Commodore Chris Creighton.
2017 E National Regatta - POSTPONED

2017 E National Regatta - POSTPONED
NCESA Annual Meeting Announcement and Agenda

NCESA Annual Meeting Announcement and Agenda
Nominations for NCESA Officers

NCESA Officers serve two year terms. At the annual membership meeting in Charleston SC the members will vote on the following nominations:
Brett Hatton (S-4, Spring Lake) for Commodore, Chrisy Hughes (M-42, Minnetonka) for Vice Commodore, and Chris Creighton (CH-1, Chautauqua) for Rear Commodore.
2017 WMYA E Invite Results
Published on: 07/29/2017

Congratulations to Jamie Kimball
Asymmetrical Spinnaker Use Rule
Published on: 07/29/2017

The NCESA scantling Rules allow for the use of two asymmetrical spinnakers for an event.
2017 WMYA Information
Published on: 07/24/2017

88th Annual Western Michigan Yachting Association Championship Regatta Coming to Crystal Lake Yacht Club
The Crystal Lake Yacht Club (CLYC), in conjunction with the Western Michigan Yachting Association (WMYA), has announced that the 88th Annual WMYA Regatta will be held on Crystal Lake at the CLYC August 2 through August 5, 2017.
This event brings competitors from around Michigan, Indiana and Wisconsin to compete in six different classes of boats with participants ranging in age from 5 to 85. Altogether over 400 people will be attending and participating in this regatta.
Racing will be held on the west end of beautiful Crystal Lake in Frankfort, Michigan. The regatta is open to all competitors that sail one of the classes in this event.
WMYA Regatta Information/Registration
Published on: 07/01/2017

WMYA Regatta Information/Registration
New E-fleet in Clearwater FL

Attached is an email to Commodore Cole about the progress to assist the Clearwater Community Sailing Center in establishing an E-Fleet.
Norman Olson made a request to NCESA to ask how we can help them establish some E-Scows in Clearwater. Commodore Bob Cole and NCESA Director Bill Nolden volunteered to meet with Clearwater to see how we could help make this happen. The Sarasota E-Fleet donations were instrumental to making this happen.
Gordon I Lindemann - Eight Bells

Eight Bells: Gordon I. Lindemann
Gordon I. Lindemann passed away peacefully June 10, 2017 (1921 - 2017) in Milwaukee, WI.
2017 E-Invite Registration deadline today 6-29
Published on: 06/29/2017

2017 E-Invite Registration deadline today 6-29
E-Scow Social Media Toolkit
Published on: 06/29/2017

If you have anything to do with E-Scow regattas, events, or news of any kind - this is a document that you should read.
Charleston Spring Regatta Report

Published on: 05/19/2017
Recap of the 3 days of racing ...

Congratulations to the winning T-73 Jeff Bonanni Team
National Regatta Youth Sponsorship Available
Published on: 05/09/2017

The National E Scow Association, along with the Carolina Yacht Club, wants your teams in attendance for the 2017 E Scow Nationals in Charleston, South Carolina, in a BIG WAY!
2017 Black Tie
Published on: 04/27/2017

After a 10 year hiatus the Rush Creek Yacht Club is back in action to bring us the return of the Black Tie Regatta, the champagne of regattas.
2017 One Design Midwinter Regatta - Sarasota Sailing Squadron
Published on: 04/26/2017

The resurgent Sarasota E fleet, with 8 local boats, was pleased to host 7 out-of-town crews. In the last two seasons, the Sarasota fleet has completed the conversion to the A sail rig, so all 15 boats were in one competitive fleet. Visitors hailed from Atlanta, Carolina, Lavallette, Metedeconk, and New Orleans.
Florida has a second E fleet

Last fall Clearwater Community Sailing Center, through the appeal of Norman Olsen, requested NCESA assistance in locating donations of used equipment to create a fleet. The NCESA Board agreed to provide limited financial assistance toward the effort. Board members Bill Nolden and Bob Cole, members of Sarasota Sailing Squadron, approached the Squadron fleet and in the end have encouraged an update of Sarasota equipment and donation of six older Sarasota E boats to Clearwater. Jim Barr, Jeff Nicholas, Doug Dearden, Chris Herdrich, Ted Weihe, Fred Weick, David Helmick and Bob Cole donated boats, sails, flotation panels, covers, trailers and dollies. Sarasota fleet members spent time in preparation of the boats.